Google 20 Blog

Entry #1: Project Goals

October 2nd, 2015

Google 20 is when a person is allowed to spend 20% of their time on their own personal projects. Google employees used to do this and it resulted in many helpful inventions such as google drive ad post-it's.

For my final product I hope to have a choose your own adventure game that focuses on the horrors of the cutthroat music industry. The players decisions will have a great influence on the story and they will end up with different endings. This allows for multiple play throughs and keep the player engaged. It will be a scary game where the players decisions can affect who dies and who lives all while trying to achieve fame. The game will be a fun and thrilling adventure.

I chose this project because I really like choose your own adventure games and scary games. I find them very engaging. Plus, I know a lot about the music industry in South Korea and how intense it is so the game will be accurate.

I hope to learn how to code Java and create a well thought out videogame. I would like to know how much work it takes to create video games so I can appreciate the ones I play more.

To accomplish my project I need to know what the multiple story lines can be and I will also need to learn how to code Java. The most important part of my game is making sure that the decisions that the player makes has a large impact on the game so the game is enjoyable and fun.

I will play more video games for inspiration. To learn Java I will go to the internet and my friends to teach me the basics then build my skills form there.

The most challenging part of this project will probably be making all the different story lines, decisions, and consequences. There will be a lot to code so the game has variety.

Entry #2

October 11th, 2015

Today I researched the basics on making a game in Java. I turned to my best friend, Google, to get me started. To begin, I need a window or a board for my game to be displayed. It’s a pretty simple code that sets the size of my screen and acts as a command center to manage all the elements of my game. The next step seems to be adding animations and images to be used in my game. This script looks a lot more complex and would like to look into the intricacies of it closely.

Entry #3

October 16th, 2015

Today I learned about animations in Java. The easiest way to make an animation is to use the Swing Timer. It may be the easiest, but it's apparently not the most effective.The swing timer code has a lot of stuff that I don't recognize, so further research will be done. There is also something called a Utility timer which is very similar to the swing timer but is way more accurate.But the most effective way to animate objects is the Thread.

Entry #4

December 4th, 2015

Code Academy added Java! Yay! I completed the introduction which taught me about different data types, variables, whitespace, comments, math, and operators. It's nice to learn about coding and it's very interesting. There are 3 different data types: int, char, and boolean and the variables can store a specific data type. I also learned how to actually display operators and mods. I think I have a pretty solid foundation set so I can make a good game.

Entry #6

December 4th, 2015

Today I reviewed the introduction to codeacademy Java because I wanted to solidify my skills. I feel more confident with data types, variables, whitespace, comments, math, and operators now. I'm confident that I will create a good game now that I have a good foundation. I started the next lesson. It began with object-orientation and went on to syntax, constructors andinstance variables.

Entry #7

December 11th, 2015

Today I continued on my codeacademy Java journey and learned about parameters, classes, objects and methods. This helped me learn how to structure and run a program. I learned a lot about methods. They are pre-defined set of instructions that are declared within a class. Methods can be used on objects to make them do a certain action. That is for sure going to come in handy when I create my game.

Click HERE to return to homepage.